The contemporary Austrian parliament and parliamentarism

The Austrian Parliament has two chambers, the National Council and the Federal Council, who jointly represent the legislative power. The Federal Assembly is composed of the 183 Members of the National Council and the 62 Members of the Federal Council. It meets every six years for the swearing-in of the Federal President. More information.

Basic documents